Hate speeches: Chhatrapati Sambhajinagar police register 7 FIRs for property damage, stone pelting (The Times of India)

Hate Watch


CHHATRAPATI SAMBHAJINAGAR: The rampant damaging of public property, and the pelting of stones by the suspects returning from the Hindu Jangarjna Rally, prompted the registration of seven FIRs including rioting and damage to public property act against the suspects late on Sunday.

In the seventh FIR, BJP’s suspended MLA T Raja Singh along with Suresh Chavhanke have been booked under section IPC 153 (A) for promoting enmity between different groups on grounds of religion, race, place, etc.

The city police citing possible law and order situation on Saturday had denied permission to the event’s organisers ‘Sakal Hindu Ekatrikaran Samiti’, which called the march for expressing support for the decision of renaming Aurangabad to Chhatrapati Sambhajinagar.

Despite police denying the permission, controversial MLA T Raja Singh and Suresh Chavhanke delivered communally charged speeches while sharing dais with religious leaders and the state’s two cabinet ministers – employment guarantee scheme and horticulture minister Sandipan Bhumare and cooperative minister Atul Save. In addition to this Sena MLA Pradeep Jaiswal and BJP MLA Shivendra Raje Bhosale were present on the dais. Bhumare is also the district guardian minister.

The event was largely attended by officer bearers and workers from BJP, Shiv Sena (Eknath Shinde camp), Maharashtra Navnirman Sena, ISKCON, Vishwas Hindu Parishad, Bajrang Dal amongst others.

According to the details shared by the city police authorities, four FIRs have been registered at Kranti Chowk police station, while one each at Osmanpura, Vedantnagar and MIDC Cidco police stations.

In the FIR registered at Osmanpura police station, Ronak Ashish Malu (18), Janak Vaibhav Malu (19), both residents of Aiyappa temple, Deepak Nakul Kumawat (21) of Sainathnagar on Beed Bypass area, Nakul Narhari Choudhary (18) of Bori in Parbhani district and four to five unidentified suspects have been booked unlawful assembly, every member of unlawful assembly guilty of offence committed in prosecution of common object, and under damage to public property act. Inspector Geeta Bagwade said that the suspects allegedly broke the metal plate installed by the civic body at the Jhansi Rani statue and also broke the name on it.

The MIDC Cidco police station registered an FIR against seven to eight men after they allegedly broke a large illuminating board reading ‘I love Aurangabad’ and also posted the photos and videos on social media. Inspector Gautam Patare said that the suspects have been booked for mischief causing damage and also under relevant sections of causing damage to public property act.

In its first FIR, Kranti Chowk police booked Durgesh Sachin Chavan of Kanchanwadi, Vicky Gorakhnath Hegde of Bajaj Nagar, Sunil Subhas Borade of Aakhni Mantha in Jalna, Vishal Krushna Lande of Mauli Manjri in Gangapur, Siddharth Kishore Kale of Gangapur and their 10 to 15 accomplices for rioting, unlawful assembly, mischief causing damage after they on the way back from rally, allegedly pelted stones at Nirala Bazar-based bank and broke its glasses, tore down banners, flexes…

This story was originally published in timesofindia.com. Read the full story here


Related Articles