Under the banner of “Secular Democratic Forces”, seven Opposition parties held a huge rally in Agartala against poll violence unleashed by BJP on Saturday.

The Opposition leaders submitted a memorandum to chief electoral officer Kiran Dinkarrao Gitte demanding stricter action against assaliants.

The joint rally of Congress, CPM, CPI, Revolutionary Socialist Party, All India Forward Bloc, CPI (ML) and the Tripura People’s Party covered all major streets of the state capital.

“My vote, my right” slogans were raised during the rally.

Days before, at least 40 Congress leaders and workers including state in-charge Ajay Kumar were injured in violence carried by BJP workers.

This story was originally published in maktoobmedia.com . Read the full story here