3 cases closed, 20 stalled; officials say probe is open, will act if required.

Clockwise: Suvendu Adhikari, Ajit Pawar, Archana Patil, Ashok Chavan, Himanta Biswa Sarma and Bhavana Gawali (File Photo)

By Deeptiman Tiwary

The law takes its own course — unless it is nudged by politics.

Since 2014, as many as 25 prominent politicians facing action from Central agencies for alleged corruption have crossed over to the BJP. They cut across party lines: 10 are from the Congress; four each from NCP and Shiv Sena; three from TMC; two from TDP; and one each from SP and YSRCP.

In 23 of these cases, their political move has translated into reprieve, an investigation by The Indian Express has found.

Three of the cases have been closed; 20 others remain stalled or in cold storage — the investigative agency’s action, after the switch, has been, in fact, inaction. Six of the politicians on this list moved to the BJP this year alone, weeks before the general elections.

This story was originally published in indianexpress.com. Read the full story here.