Maharashtra Government Officially Renames Aurangabad And Osmanabad Districts ( The Cognate )

The Maharashtra government has officially changed the names of two prominent districts in the state. The notification, issued by the Revenue Department on Friday, announced the renaming of Aurangabad to “Chhatrapati Sambhajinagar” and Osmanabad to “Dharashiv.”

The decision to rename these districts comes after a period of deliberation and the consideration of suggestions and objections that were solicited several months ago. The Maharashtra government has decided to implement these changes not only at the district level but also at the sub-division, village, and taluka levels.

The renaming initiative was initially endorsed during the last cabinet meeting of the previous Maha Vikas Aghadi (MVA) government. The decision was taken on June 29, 2022, in the presence of then-Chief Minister Uddhav Thackeray, just before his resignation.

However, a subsequent change in government leadership led to disputes over the legality of the renaming process. Chief Minister Eknath Shinde and Deputy Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis, who were sworn in a day after Thackeray’s resignation, contended that the decision to rename these districts was taken without following due process. They argued that the MVA government had acted improperly by making these changes after the governor had called for a vote of confidence in the state assembly.

This story was originally published in Read the full story here