On March 6, 1983, at its Muzaffarnagar convention, the Hindu Jagran Manch passed a resolution for the liberation of Ram Janmabhoomi in Ayodhya, Krishna Janmabhoomi in Mathura and the Kashi Vishwanath Temple in Varanasi.

In attendance were notable figures such as Dau Dayal Khanna, Gulzari Lal Nanda, Rajju Bhaiya, and Ashok Singhal. Subsequently, Khanna and Singhal visited Ayodhya, engaging with the late Ramchandra Paramhans of Digamber Akhara. This was followed by a meeting with 50 saints, leading to the formation of the Shri Ram Janmabhoomi Mukti Yagya Samiti under the chairmanship of Mahant Avaidyanath, the guru of Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath.

Similar letters were also sent to late Prime Minister Rajiv Gandhi on January 12, 1987, and late defence minister VP Singh on August 17, 1987. Before that, the Vishwa Hindu Parishad (VHP) gave a call for a public movement for the liberation of the three purported janmabhoomis at their Dharam Sansad held in Delhi’s Vigyan Bhawan in April 1984, attended by 558 saints from 76 panths (sects). The VHP constituted in 1964, launched its first formal Rath Yatra in October 1985, demanding the unlocking of the disputed structure in Ayodhya.

This story was originally published in hindustantimes.com. Read the full story here .