By News Desk

The Central government has authorized all states and Union Territories to take action against three banned groups based in Jammu Kashmir under the UAPA.

The groups include Muslim conference led by  Ghulam Nabi Sumji, Muslim Conference led by Masarat Alam, and Jamaat-e-Islami.

Notifications from the Ministry of Home Affairs empowered state governments and Union Territory administrations to exercise powers under the Unlawful Activities (Prevention) Act concerning these unlawful associations.

Last month, the home ministry extended the ban on Jamaat-e-Islami, Jammu and Kashmir, for five years, citing its activities against national security and sovereignty and also banned both fractions of the Muslim conference.

This story was originally published in Read the full story here.